Crocodile Trophy: Stage 5

Wolfgang Krenn gets stage win for Austria at Mt Mulligan

The Crocodile Trophy camp will applaud two new faces on the elite male and female podiums: Wolfgang Krenn (above) from Austria wins ahead of Ivan Rybarik and Ondrej Fojtik in a thrilling finish sprint into the Mt Mulligan. The Belgian mountain bike marathon racer Alice Pirard finished as the fastest woman of the day. Continue Reading →


Crocodile Trophy: Stage 4

Unstoppable Rybarik wins next Crocodile Trophy stage at Irvinebank

Czech rider Ivan Rybarik wins the fourth stage of the 2012 Crocodile Trophy at Irvinebank today and the overall race result stays the same with Czech and Austrian riders dominating the top five positions: Rybarik leads ahead of fellow Czech rider Ondrej Fojtik in second and the Austrian Wolfgang Krenn is third. Ondrej Slezak (CZE) is fourth and Dominick Hrinkow (AUT) claims fifth overall place. With a solid performance, the Belgian rider Michiel Van Aelbroeck (BEL) was second at Irvinebank and Ondrej Fojtik crossed the line as third. Continue Reading →


Crocodile Trophy: Stage 3

“Ivanator” Rybarik gets leader jersey back

The Australian media has called it the “Czech domination” at the Crocodile Trophy and also their fellow riders admit that Ivan Rybrik and Ondrej Fojtik’s performances of the last three stages are to be admired. After today’s wild ride across the rough terrain of the Hasties Swamp National Park, Rybarik kept pushing hard and left Fojtik and the Austrian chaser trio with Hrinkow, Benetseder and Krenn behind. Whilst after almost four hours Fojtik finished second and Hrinkow ended up securing the third place, Kate Major was again the fastest female racer of the day and the Crocodile Trophy adventure was still in full swing with Mark Griffin and Aaron Lakeman increasing their lead in the new two-man team category. Continue Reading →


Crocodile Trophy: Stage 2

Heat and bad luck strike as Fojtik wins at Lake Tinaroo and gets the leader jersey

Stage Two: Cairns – Lake Tinaroo l 92 km/2500 m

Ondrej Fojtik is the stage winner of today, crossing the line with a 7:58 minute gap to second Ivan Rybarik. Canadian Cory Wallace comes in third and the Australian Jason English unfortunately saw his race ending too early due to a fractured collar bone from an accident on the last kilometres to the finish line. Continue Reading →


Crocodile Trophy: Stage 1

Surprise stage win by strong Czech racer Ivan Rybarik

Stage One: Cairns – Smithfield (5 laps) l 30 km/800 m

Ivan Rybarik had won two stages at the infamous stage race in 2008 and showed a strong performance today, adding a third Boomerang to his collection at the lap race in Smithfield today. Belgian rider Mike Mulkens came in second and the Australian 24 Hour Solo World Champion Jason English finished third and will be racing the Australian Leader’s jersey for Stage 2. All competitors had to complete 5 laps on the technically challenging 6km former World Cup course.

For the first time in Crocodile Trophy history a lap race kicked off the nine-day stage race in Cairns today. More than 130 riders were at the start, which included local Australian mountain bikers who competed with the stage racers in a public classification. Hosted by the local Cairns MTB Club the international field of racers rolled into Smithfield just before lunch time and the atmosphere was prickling with excitement.

Czech repeat stage win

All week all eyes had been on the Czech 2008 overall race winner Ondrej Fojtik, but it was Ivan Rybarik who quickly took the lead after the race start and kept it over five laps, crossing the finish line after 1:31.21. The pace among the lead riders was quick – Rybarik, Mulkens (BEL), Krenn (AUT), Rybarik, Mulkens (BEL), Krenn (AUT), English (AUS), Fojtik (CZE) and Slezak (CZE).

Continue Reading →