2013 U.S. MTB Marathon Nationals Recap

Twenty-one national titles awarded at Marathon Mountain Bike Nationals on Saturday

Sun Valley, Idaho (July 6, 2013) – Twenty-one Stars-and-Stripes jerseys were awarded today at the 2013 USA Cycling Marathon Mountain Bike National Championships on the final day of the Ride Sun Valley Festival in Sun Valley, Idaho.

In the pro/open events, Todd Wells (Durango, Colo./Specialized Racing) and Monique “Pua” Mata (Yucaipa, Calif./Sho-Air-Cannondale) repeated their victories from a year ago.

Wells added another gold medal to his hardware collection by creating a gap on the climb and completing the event with a time of 2:52:36. The three-time Olympian finished just a couple of minutes ahead of silver medalist Stephen Ettinger (Bozeman, Mont./BMC Mountainbike Racing Team). Alexander Grant (Salt Lake City, Utah/Sho-Air-Cannondale) crossed the finish line two minutes later for the bronze while Carl Decker (Bend, Ore.) and Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va./Team Sho-Air-Cannondale) rounded out fourth and fifth.

puamatt_XCM_NationalsMata claimed her third straight Marathon Mountain Bike national title when she finished the 41-mile course in 3:24:36, thirteen minutes ahead of her nearest threats. The silver medal went to Serena Gordon (Bend, Ore.) who outsprinted third- and fourth-place finishers Rose Grant (Kalispell, Mont./Sportsman & Ski Haus) and Jana Repulski (Boise, Idaho/Broken Spoke Cycling) at the line. Grabbing the fifth place was Elizabeth English (Whitefish, Mont.

“This was one of my goals at the beginning of the season,” Mata said afterwards. “Everything kind of fell into place and I was just trying to ride smart and safe. The course is amazing. It’s hard, but we had a beautiful day and the people were awesome.”

In the women’s single speed contest, Rebecca Rusch (Ketchum, ID/Specialized) rode her way to the top of the podium after defeating silver medalist Carey Lowery (Athens, TN/) by about 17 minutes. Karen Tremaine (Steamboat Springs, CO/) collected the bronze while Lisa Curry (Bozeman, MT/Gallatin Valley Bicycle Club/Gallatin Alpine Sports/Intrinsik Archite) and Sara Schroeder (Hailey, ID/Mud Honey Cycling) were fourth and fifth.

“I love this course. It’s my hometown course,” Rusch explained afterwards. “It’s so fun to see all my friends and see pros from out of town here. Last year I had a really bad experience with flats so I was taking it really easy on this last part, saying ‘don’t flat don’t flat.’ It’s such a great week. I love the Ride Sun Valley festival. Having nationals here is really special a block from my house.”

In the men’s single speed, Rusch’s friend Cary Smith (Jackson, WY/Team CF) took the victory. He finished about six minutes ahead of second-place rider AJ Linnell (Victor, ID/). Tom Flynn (Boise, ID/Pro Leisure) crossed the line for bronze while Cameron Lloyd (Hailey, ID/Sun Summit Cycling Club) and Ron Shevock (Folsom, CA/Folsom Bike/VW/Raley’s/Folsom Bike/Giant) rounded out fourth and fifth.

In the men’s 19-29 class, Joseph Petrowski (Littleton, CO/Primal Wear – McDonald-Audi) took the gold medal with a six minute lead over his competitors while Gabe Klamer (Jackson, WY/) and Kyle Dixon (Reno, NV/) won the men’s 30-34 and men’s 35-39 contests by about three minutes each. In the men’s 40-44 competition, Dario Fredrick (San Anselmo, CA/Whole Athlete/Whole Athlete / Specialized) had an impressive nine minute gap on second place when he crossed the finish line for the Stars-and-Stripes. It was a little bit closer for Jon Gould (Boise, ID/Eastside Cycles-Idaho) in the 45-49 age group as he took the victory by about a minute and half. The legendary David “Tinker” Juarez (Whittier, CA/) blasted his competition away in the 50-54 group with a 23 minute lead at the finish. Zan Treasure (Ogden, UT/Bountiful Bicycle Racing) and Dwight Hibdon (Park City, UT/) claimed the top of the podium amongst men 55-59 and 60-64 while Allan Marvin (Denver, CO/Groove Subaru-Alpha Bicycle Co) and James Wagner (Auburn, WA/Bike Masters- WA) grabbed the wins for men 65-69 and 70+.

Jena Greaser (Ketchum, ID/Mud Honey Cycling) created a 13 minute gap for the win in the women’s 19-29 race while Hannah Williams (Steamboat Springs, CO/) and Nicole Dolney (Sacramento, CA/Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club/Los Gatos) rode to victory in the 30-34 and 35-39 groups. With nine minutes to spare, Helene Drumm (San Anselmo, CA/Whole Athlete/Whole Athlete / Specialized) was the fastest of the women 40-44. Julie Young (Auburn, Calif.) was the top woman in the 45-49 race. The final two top prizes went to Kris Walker (Pocatello, ID/The Contender Club) in the 50-54 group and Muffy Ritz (Ketchum, ID/Mud Honey Cycling) in the 55-59 contest.

Men’s Pro/Open

1) Todd Wells (Specialized Racing)
2) Stephen Ettinger (BMC Mountainbike Racing Team)
3) Alexander Grant (Team Sho-Air/Cannondale)
4) Carl Decker
5) Jeremiah Bishop (Team Sho-Air/Cannondale)

Women’s Pro/Open

1) Monique “Pua” Mata (Team Sho-Air/Cannondale)
2) Serena Gordon
3) Rose Grant (Sportsman & Ski Haus)
4) Jana Repulski (Broken Spoke Cycling)
5) Elizabeth English

Men’s Singlespeed

1. Cary Smith (Team CF)
2. AJ Linnell
3. Tom Flynn (Pro Leisure)
4. Cameron Lloyd (Sun Summit Cycling Club)
5. Ron Shevock (Folsom Bike/VW/Raley’s/Folsom Bike/Giant)

Women’s Singlespeed

1. Rebecca Rusch (Specialized)
2. Carey Lowery
3. Karen Tremaine
4. Lisa Curry (Gallatin Valley Bicycle Club/Gallatin Alpine Sports/Intrinsik Archite)
5. Sara Schroeder (Mud Honey Cycling)


Article and photo provided by USA Cycling


, , ,

moving companies halifax affordable piano movers moving home company hiring movers cost corporate movers